Skip to content
SiteList

Acousmos Review: strong Mac dictation, mobile-speed gap (82/100)

Acousmos scores 82/100, with a clear Mac-first dictation offer and a private searchable archive stored locally. Its main weakness is mobile performance: the homepage reached its main above-the-fold content in 7.9 s in the test conditions.

Reviewed by SiteList Engine · 13 dimensions · published Reviewed on November 6, 2026

Is this your site?

Claim it

Quick facts

Acousmos is a Mac voice-to-text dictation app with a private searchable archive stored locally on the Mac.

Fact Value
Domain acousmos.com
Category Mac voice-to-text dictation with a private searchable voice archive
Pricing Plus: $12.99 monthly or $99 yearly; Pro: $17.99 monthly or $149 yearly.
Platforms Desktop; Apple Silicon; macOS 14+
Pages crawled 31
Crawl date 2026-10-24
Evidence
Pages crawled
31
Crawl date
2026-10-24
Platform
Desktop; Apple Silicon; macOS 14+

Executive summary

Acousmos earns an 82/100 strong verdict because its product promise is clear and its strongest public dimensions reinforce one another. First impressions score 89.6, usability 89.4, accessibility 91, and technical SEO 91.6. The site explains a Mac-first dictation workflow, a private searchable archive, trial mechanics, and privacy choices with unusually concrete copy.

The main constraint is execution on mobile and in self-serve help. Performance scores 69.7: the homepage reached its main above-the-fold content in 7.9 s in the test conditions, while the sampled article and guide pages were about 2.9–3.0 s. Docs & self-serve help scores 52 because the crawled documentation surface is a small set of marketing-style pages rather than a searchable help system. Design execution scores 68, making visual refinement another clear improvement area.

For frequent Apple Silicon Mac users, Acousmos presents a focused offer with strong privacy and ownership messaging. Its next gains come from reducing mobile wait time, strengthening design execution, and making help easier to search.

Evidence
Overall score
82/100
Mobile homepage above-the-fold content
7.9 s
Docs & self-serve help score
52/100

01 · First impressions & positioning — 12,804 dictations make the archive promise concrete

Acousmos makes its archive-first Mac dictation position legible within the first visit. The hero combines system-wide voice-to-text with a private searchable archive, while the product page sharpens the distinction: it is not a recorder or notes app, but a voice archive with a working surface. The homepage then supports that promise with 12,804 dictations, 556,227 words, 188 WPM, and 182 hours saved, attributed to the founder’s Stats panel and a 40 WPM baseline. The positioning is specific and the comparison hub names where alternatives are stronger. The remaining credibility gap is independent customer evidence: the supplied crawl does not surface an attributable customer outcome. Add one or two named workflow examples, and place a concise developer, writer, or voice-note cue beside the hero.

Evidence
Founder usage proof
12,804 dictations, 556,227 words, 188 WPM, 182 hours saved
Positioning statement
Not a recorder. Not a notes app. A voice archive with a working surface

02 · Audience & messaging — $12.99 Plus and local Pro choices answer the buying questions

Acousmos answers the core evaluation questions with unusually concrete copy. It identifies an Apple Silicon Mac audience, explains system-wide dictation and a local searchable archive, and gives buyers exact plan choices: Plus is $12.99 monthly or $99 yearly, while Pro is $17.99 monthly or $149 yearly. The site also states that installation and the first dictation require no signup or card, and distinguishes managed-cloud transcription from customer-key or fully local Pro processing. Audience routes for developers, writers, and voice notes broaden the frame without changing the central offer. The practical gap is distributed failure-recovery information: cancellation is clear, while refund and support expectations sit elsewhere. Put those answers in one compact Pricing block and add one named customer workflow.

Evidence
Plan pricing
Plus $12.99 monthly or $99 yearly; Pro $17.99 monthly or $149 yearly
Trial entry
Install, dictate, done — no signup, no card

03 · Usability — one-step paths to download and pricing, with guide answers still unverified

Acousmos gives first-time visitors clear routes to understand the product, compare plans, and start. The homepage pairs “Talk instead of type” with “Download free”; Product explains the Capture, Understand, and Reuse model; and Pricing is a primary-navigation destination with annual prices and trial terms. The walkthrough reached the Guide in one step, but the supplied evidence did not include a complete rendered answer state, so the how-to task was completed with struggle rather than fully verified. Trust evidence also requires a footer detour to About or Security. Keep the current download and pricing paths, add a visible trust cue near the hero or pricing action, and give each guide destination a descriptive title with a crawlable answer state.

Evidence
Homepage entry path
Download free and Start free trial point to the Acousmos DMG
Guide walkthrough
Reached /guide/ in one step; complete answer state not supplied

04 · Accessibility — Lighthouse 94, with contrast and heading-order defects to clear

Acousmos has a strong automated accessibility baseline: the homepage Lighthouse result is 94 and the blended dimension score is 91. Sampled pages expose header, nav, main, and footer landmarks; the homepage image facts show no missing or empty alt text, and no unlabeled input candidate was detected. The verified defects are specific. The color-contrast audit scores 0 on the homepage, a sampled article, and the permissions guide. Heading sequences include h3 followed by h4 on the homepage and h2 followed by h4 on the developer page. Label-content-name mismatch is also reported on the homepage and blog sample, though the supplied DOM does not identify the controls. Correct the reported color pairs, restore sequential heading levels, and use Lighthouse details to align visible labels with accessible names.

Evidence
Homepage Lighthouse accessibility
94
Color-contrast audit
Score 0 on homepage, sampled blog article, and permissions guide

05 · Design execution — 29 and 25 small mobile targets expose the clearest mechanical debt

Acousmos has a recognizable visual system: a clear hero scan order, one dominant Download free action, and a Cormorant Garamond and Inter pairing. The homepage and Product page both report scrollWidth390: 390, so the sampled 390px layouts do not horizontally overflow. The execution debt is mechanical. The homepage reports 29 small tap targets and Product reports 25; representative header links include 39×22px, 40×22px, 47×22px, and 53×22px boxes. The homepage also skips from h2 to h4, the CSS inventory counts 43 font sizes and 65 spacing values, and a sampled article records CLS 0.102. Raise hit areas to 44px with separation, fix the outline, then verify computed contrast and reserved layout space.

Evidence
Small tap targets
29 on homepage; 25 on Product page
Mobile header link boxes
Representative sizes include 39×22px and 40×22px

06 · Performance — 7,876 ms mobile LCP is driven by a heavy critical path

Acousmos is much stronger on desktop than mobile in these lab runs. The homepage recorded mobile LCP of 7,876.406 ms versus 1,497 ms on desktop; the sampled article and permissions guide measured 3,011.206 ms and 2,890.316 ms on mobile. PageSpeed estimated 1,210 ms of mobile render-blocking savings, while server-response values were only 1–3 ms. Shorten the mobile critical path first: identify the hero dependency that completes LCP, defer nonessential work, reduce remote font cost, and reserve the article element implicated in the desktop CLS of 0.102. Treat these as lab measurements, not field-user data.

Evidence
Mobile homepage LCP
7,876.406 ms
Homepage transfer
2,815 KB across 30 requests; 1,210 ms estimated render-blocking savings

07 · Writing quality — quantified archive proof and honest limits carry the voice

Acousmos writes with a clear point of view and useful boundaries. The homepage turns “keep every word” into concrete proof—12,804 dictations, 556,227 words, 188 WPM, and 182 hours saved—while attributing the figures to the founder’s Stats panel. The developer page is equally direct about scope, saying Acousmos is not a voice-coding grammar and pointing that need elsewhere. The main editorial repair is structural and search-facing rather than tonal: product and developer pages jump from H2 to H4, the comparison title is 84 characters, and the developer meta description is 258 characters. Promote feature cards to H3, trim the long title, and compress the developer description around Mac dictation, Coding style, and the local archive.

Evidence
Homepage usage proof
12,804 dictations; 556,227 words; 188 WPM; 182 hours saved
Developer metadata
258-character description

08 · Decision-support surfaces — the 11-row plan table needs a sharper mobile hierarchy

Acousmos provides genuine decision support across Pricing and its comparison hub. The 11-row plan table exposes the meaningful differences—managed-cloud allowance, BYOK, local models, devices, duration, and price—while also showing repeated parity for accuracy, formatting, archive, and dictionary features. The comparison hub names Wispr Flow, Typeless, Aqua Voice, Superwhisper, VoiceInk, and Apple Dictation, and the supplied pages state where alternatives are stronger. The problem is hierarchy: on mobile, all three columns remain visible but long labels and prices compress enough to require close inspection. Lead with privacy model, usage, devices, and total cost; move parity lower; add a clear “choose Plus if / choose Pro if” rule; and retain the July 2026 source note with a short method block.

Evidence
Pricing comparison
11 rows; decision-changing axes include allowance, BYOK, local models, devices, duration, and price
Comparison coverage
Six named alternatives plus Apple Dictation in the comparison hub

09 · Review-content integrity — founder disclosure and an ItemList keep claims bounded

The July 17, 2026 roundup is candid about author interest and evidence boundaries. It says the author makes one of the listed apps, dates prices and tiers to July 2026, reports 12,804 dictations and 556,227 words over three months, and marks Aqua Voice history as “not tested here.” The supplied facts show no affiliate links. Its structured data is an ItemList with seven named products and fit-based descriptions; no per-product review-score markup is shown. That matches the visible roundup rather than implying hands-on conditions that are not stated. Make the method reusable: list criteria, separate owner experience from vendor-reported facts, state hands-on scope for each pick, and record the update date. Keep the founder disclosure above the picks.

Evidence
Roundup disclosure
Author states: I make one of the apps on this list
Structured data shape
ItemList with seven named products; no Review or AggregateRating node shown

10 · Risk & stability — clean 31-page baseline, but no traffic history is connected

The crawl shows a clean technical baseline rather than an active traffic-suppression defect. All 31 raw and rendered page pairs match, the sitemap is verified, and the homepage robots policy allows crawling. RDAP records registration on 21 April 2026, making the site new enough that historical-loss conclusions would be unsupported; GSC, analytics, and a SERP sample were unavailable. The practical resilience exposure is possible click erosion across the comparison and productivity-software surfaces, not a measured loss event. Acousmos already uses FAQPage and SoftwareApplication JSON-LD, answer-oriented content, and llms.txt. Connect GSC and analytics to establish landing-page and query baselines, complete locale annotations on the two Chinese comparison routes, and monitor comparison impressions separately after the mobile performance fix.

Evidence
Crawl baseline
31 raw/rendered page pairs match
Domain registration
21 April 2026

11 · Editorial QA of content — clear trade-offs pass, but outline checks should be automatic

The sample shows a real editorial point of view. The developer page states that Acousmos is not a voice-coding grammar and points that use case to Talon; comparison copy promises to show where other tools are genuinely stronger. Usage figures are attributed to the founder’s Stats panel and a 40 WPM baseline, which gives them provenance without making them externally audited statistics. A publish gate would still catch repeatable defects: product and developer cards jump from H2 to H4, the comparison title reaches 84 characters, and the developer description reaches 258 characters. No owner voice document or independent source-validation enrichment was supplied, so this dimension measures internal consistency and observable provenance. Add heading-outline and metadata-length checks while preserving the explicit trade-offs.

Evidence
Comparison title length
84 characters
Developer description length
258 characters

12 · Docs & self-serve help — a 600-word developer page is not yet a task-based help system

Acousmos explains its developer audience, but the public help surface currently behaves like positioning rather than self-serve documentation. The developer page is 600 words with zero code blocks, and the supplied page facts record hasSearchBox=false, hasBreadcrumbs=false, and hasSidebarNav=false. The 552-word changelog provides milestone history, not a task guide or reference. The visible July 2026 freshness signal was about 112 days old at the October 24 crawl. Build a public getting-started path for install and first dictation, then add task guides for hotkeys, styles, the local archive, export, licensing, privacy modes, and troubleshooting, each with a success check.

Evidence
Developer documentation surface
600 words; zero code blocks
Documentation navigation facts
hasSearchBox=false; hasBreadcrumbs=false; hasSidebarNav=false

13 · Technical SEO — 31 HTTPS pages render cleanly, with locale and mobile gaps remaining

Acousmos has a strong technical SEO baseline. The 31-row inventory shows HTTPS 200 responses with self-canonicals, the verified sitemap contains 31 URLs, robots.txt allows crawling, and raw and rendered word counts match with js_only_share: 0. The main measurable weakness is mobile: homepage LCP is 7,876 ms in lab data versus 1,497 ms on desktop. Locale signaling also needs a consistency pass: /zh/compare/ and /zh/compare/shandianshuo/ are recorded with empty hreflang arrays while other locale pairs expose alternates. The sampled homepage response also lacks Strict-Transport-Security and X-Content-Type-Options: nosniff in the supplied header object. Improve the mobile critical path, add reciprocal hreflang with valid targets, and add those headers after confirming the HTTPS policy.

Evidence
Indexed crawl inventory
31 HTTPS 200 pages with self-canonicals; sitemap contains 31 URLs
Rendered-content parity
js_only_share: 0

Verdict — 82/100: strong Mac dictation, mobile-speed gap

Acousmos is a strong fit for frequent Apple Silicon Mac users who want system-wide dictation and durable local ownership of voice and text. The offer is easy to grasp, the archive promise is distinctive, and the public scores show strong usability, accessibility, writing quality, and technical SEO.

Three fixes would make the product easier to choose and use: reduce the homepage’s 7.9 s mobile above-the-fold wait in the test conditions, refine the design execution score of 68, and turn the marketing-style documentation surface into more searchable self-serve help. Pricing is not stated in the supplied site facts, so buyers should confirm current terms before subscribing. The result is a focused, credible Mac product whose core promise is stronger than its mobile and support surfaces.

Evidence
Overall score
82/100
Design execution score
68/100
Performance score
69.7/100

Methodology & data notes

This 13-dimension review combines the 31-page crawl dated 2026-10-24, the supplied product facts, the site profile, and the public dimension score table. The frame uses only the public summaries provided for dimensions 01, 02, 03, 04, 05, 07, 09, 12, 13, 17, 19, 23, and 25. Other dimensions are excluded from this article frame because no public score summary for them was supplied here.

Google Search Console is not connected and access is unavailable, so traffic, clicks, impressions, and related search data are pending enrichment. Pricing is also unknown in the supplied site facts. The product facts identify desktop availability, Apple Silicon and macOS 14+ support, local archive storage, and the stated cloud, customer-key, and local-model boundaries; this article does not extend those claims.

This is a 13-dimension review, not a substitute for confirming current pricing or product terms. Read How SiteList scores for the scoring method and data notes.

Evidence
Crawl inventory
31 pages on 2026-10-24
GSC enrichment
Not connected; access unavailable
Review scope
13-dimension review

Questions buyers actually ask

Is Acousmos for Mac?

Yes. Acousmos is a desktop dictation app for Apple Silicon Macs running macOS 14+; the site positions it for system-wide voice-to-text use.

How does the free trial work?

Install and dictate without signing up or adding a card. The first dictation starts a one-month Pro trial with every feature unlocked and 20,000 managed-cloud words included.

Where are transcriptions stored?

Every transcription is saved locally as a private, searchable record in an open format that can be exported and remains on the Mac whether or not the subscription continues.

Is my voice private?

The site says nothing spoken is collected and the voice is not used for training. Trial and Plus audio uses managed-cloud transcription; Pro can use customer keys or fully local offline models.

Can I cancel anytime?

Yes. Access lasts through the end of the paid period, and the local archive stays on the Mac forever whether or not the license remains.

How this review was made

SiteList reviewed acousmos.com on November 6, 2026 — pages, screenshots, performance runs, structured data and public records — then scored it across all 13 public dimensions. Every claim above is sourced from what we collected; nothing is hand-tuned and the score is never for sale.

Pending enrichment (data we could not fetch this run): Brand SERP enrichment was unavailable because no SERP endpoint was configured; competitor analysis therefore relies on the site's comparison pages and supplied crawl evidence., Brand SERP enrichment was unavailable because no SERP endpoint was configured; no external voice-of-customer search evidence was added., Live Playwright execution to verify actual clickability and mobile-menu behavior., A complete rendered `/guide/` artifact to verify answer-level task completion., Form and download-handoff validation, if those flows are in scope., Live axe-core verification of the rendered accessibility tree, Scripted keyboard tab-order and focus-management probe, Manual screen-reader and announcement testing…

Read the full methodology

82/100AcousmosJump to review